8 Aboriginal ways of learning


Tell a story.
Make a plan.
Think and do.
Draw it.
Take it outside.
Try a new way.
Watch first, then do.
Share it with others.

8 Aboriginal ways of learning is a framework that allows teachings to include Aboriginal perspective through these learning techniques. These links are:
~ Story sharing: connect through narratives that are shared.
~ Learning maps: visuals are used to map out learning processes to follow.
~ Non-verbal: without using words learning is applied through seeing, thinking, acting.
~ Symbols and images: use images to gain knowledge with art, land and objects.
~ Land links: Context changes to local land/place and linked to learning.
~ Non-linear: Build different ideas and perspectives to gain deeper understanding.
~ Deconstruct/Reconstruct: Working with wholes then breaking down into parts.
~ Community links: Connecting with real-life community and learning from local views.

(8 Aboriginal ways of learning factsheet, May 2012. Retrieved from http://intranet.ecu.edu.au/__data/assets/pdf_file/0016/510073/8-Aboriginal-ways-of-learning-factsheet.pdf)


Transformative learning


Transformative learning experiences are important in today’s education because it encourages students’ to see all points of views. Students’ frame of mind can be transformed into more inclusive, reflective and open ways of thinking through discussion and reflection. Two major elements are critical self reflection/assessment and participating fully/freely. These elements help to transform students’ frames of mind once they are open to various teachings.

(K12Online, 2013. On this day… [Image]. Retrieved from http://k12onlineconference.org/?p=1233)

Community of Practice explained…


A community of practice is a group of people who share a common concern, interest or passion which they learn about universally through experiences, stories and routines. It is NOT an individual practice with people who have social interests that has no learning opportunities.
It includes:
– Domain: shared domain of interest involving commitment and competence in group.
– Community: group members engage in activities and discussion to share information and learn from each other.
– Practice: develop resources like experiences, stories, and tools which involves time and interaction.

(Tanner James, 2012. What makes a good P3 community of practice? [Image]. Retrieved from http://www.tannerjames.com.au/_blog/Tanner_James_Blog/tag/Community_of_Practice/)

Salmon stages


This is an image of Salmon’s stages of learning. Looking at this, I feel on a technological sense I have reached stage 3, but on a communicative sense maybe not as much. In general, I am a quiet person so I don’t have much to say online. Although, I have tried to communicate as often as I can. It isn’t because I don’t know how it’s just my nature I guess. I think I might progress through these stages once I become more familiar with all the online websites and social sites.

(Oxford Brookes University, 2012. Gilly Salmon’s five stages of online learning [Image]. Retrieved from https://radar.brookes.ac.uk/radar/items/a68b80cb-c531-44e7-a0af-d5c1f1ef7fae/3/)