Studying scorpions

I thought I might post my drawing of Scorpionum: antiquis creaturae pulcritudinem.
The scorpion I drew in science was a Urodacus elongates (I think). The opportunity to observe a real-life scorpion was a fantastic experience and one that is very effective in the classroom. It reminds me of the zoo/wildlife incursions organised at schools these days. Seeing animals and creatures in real-life can be so enriching and it brings to life everything that you have been learning about.

The learning space while drawing these scorpions was individual but also grouped because you were able to discuss features of the scorpions with peers nearby. The lesson was student-centred where plenty of questions were raised about the specific features found on this magnificent creature. It was amazing to notice the perspectives of everyone in the class… some drew the main outline of the scorpion and others noticed the tiniest details.

In my drawings, I tried to draw the scorpion from both the top view and bottom view. One of the drawings are incomplete (as you can see) but I enjoyed the lesson nonetheless.

20131027_164542

20131027_164553

20131027_164600

Leave a Reply

